This feature was introduced in LearnDash 3.0 and works with the LearnDash 3.0 template. This feature does not work with the Legacy template.
There are many ways to handle an existing user’s login & new user’s registration process. LearnDash has always provided great flexibility for you to choose how to handle this. As of version 3.0, we now have our own built-in login & registration process. You no longer need a third-party plugin to create a seamless login and/or registration process for your users.
Table of Contents
Enable LearnDash Login & Registration
There are four important steps in order to enable LearnDash login & registration:
- You must be using LearnDash 3.0 or higher
- You must select “LearnDash 3.0” as your active template
- You need to enable the Login & Registration option in the LearnDash general settings
- You need to enable registration for your WordPress site by selecting the Anyone can register checkbox located under SETTINGS > GENERAL (only necessary if you want to allow registration)
Upload a Login Logo
While not required, we recommend uploading a logo to use on the login screen. This logo will appear below the login form. To upload a logo:
- Navigate to LEARNDASH LMS > SETTINGS
- In the Design & Content Elements section, look for Logo Upload
- Click the Select image button
- Choose an image from your Media Library, or upload a new one
- Click Use this image at the bottom
- Be sure to save your changes
You can remove your image by clicking the
X, or upload a new one by repeating the steps above.
How It Works
The native LearnDash login & registration works in a few different ways, depending on the following:
- Whether or not the user is currently logged in
- The access mode assigned to the course
LearnDash login & registration does not affect the default WordPress login page located at
yoursite.com/wp-login.php. You can still use a third-party plugin to customize the default WordPress login page, and users can still login that way.
Logged In Users
Logged in users will never see a login link because they are already logged in.
- If the user has access to the course, they’ll see a progress bar at the top of the page, and be able to navigate through the course steps
- If the user is logged in but does not have access to the course, they’ll see the “Take this Course” button
“Open” & “Closed” Courses
These course access modes will never show a login link, and thus will never use this feature.
- Open courses are available to everyone, even those not logged in. Since it is not necessary to login to view these courses, no login link is shown.
- Closed courses are most commonly used for integrating with a third-party ecommerce or membership plugin. Login & course access is usually handled via the third-party plugin.
Visitors viewing a course with access mode set to “Free” will see a Login to Enroll button. Upon clicking this button, a registration form will appear for the user to sign up for an account to gain access to the course (or login if they already have an account).
“Buy Now” & “Recurring” Courses
Visitors viewing a course with access mode set to “Buy Now” or “Recurring” will see a login link in the “Take this Course” section. If the user has already purchased & enrolled into the course, they can use the “Login” link to open the registration form & sign into their account. If not, they can click the “Take this Course” button to pay via your configured payment gateway (Stripe, PayPal or 2Checkout).
If you would like to use the log-in modal pop-up somewhere other than a course page, then you can do so by using the following shortcode:
You can place this shortcode onto a regular WordPress page, post, widget (for the sidebar), and it will display a Login link for visitors, and a Logout link for anyone who is logged-in.
When a visitor clicks on the Login link, the LearnDash login & registration modal will appear.